top of page

Our Recent Posts

Tags

No tags yet.

2018 Wrap Up

Well, I am about to leave this beautiful and extremely confusing country. I have learned a lot, and experienced some very odd things during my time here. This final post will try and wrap up my feelings about Costa Rica, and provide you with some advice about traveling this country.

Since our last update I have went to all the museums in San Jose, and the Jade museum was my favorite! I have traveled to Puerto Viejo, which is a beautiful town close to nice beaches where I rode horses. I have spent a

weekend without electricity milking goats in Durika. It is a beautiful little discussed sustainable community. I have caught rays for research and went fishing. I have traveled to Jaco and the town of Puntarenas which is a must see. I have experienced the culture here more fully than I could ever have hoped for, and while I am ready to go home I am not ready to leave behind the spirit of this country.

So, what are my final words of advice.

1. Go! If you are on the fence about studying abroad or traveling get over it! Traveling is the only way to truly experience new cultures and learn things about yourself you can never learn at home.

2. Don't let fear hold you back. If you are nervous about traveling when you are abroad get over it. You can usually find someone else to travel with, and if you can't traveling alone is an amazing experience.

3. Don't just go to the tourist traps. I know this is advice you hear from everyone, but it is important to truly experience the culture of your new country.

4. Don't worry too much about school. It is important to do well in your classes abroad, but it is also important to experience the culture.

5. Take advantage of the option to have a host family while studying abroad. It is amazing to have a built in connection to your new country, and it is nice to have someone to turn to when you are struggling navigating your new world. I couldn't have done all the things I did without my host family to help me.

6. Just have fun! Your experience abroad will be your own and make sure to take advantage of every minute of it. I don't mean you have to be doing something every minute. Taking advantage of your experience can simply be reading in the park where you live instead of hanging out in your room.

Finally, I just want to say farewell to Costa Rica. I don't know if I will ever return to this beautiful country, but I can not wait to see what the rest of the world has to offer!

bottom of page