top of page

Our Recent Posts

Tags

No tags yet.

What a Ride


Apparently along with being an inefficient traveler I am also an extremely inefficient blogger. I have officially been in Costa Rica for four weeks, and a lot has happened since my last post. So first, one very important update, I figured out how the hot water works!!!!!!! In my last post I said the showers were freezing, and they are for many people, but I figured out the warm water in my home!!! So here is the trick.... C stands for caliente.... Now that you know you too may have warm showers!

Now on to what I have been doing since I have been here! First I spent the weekend in Monte Verde! I went zip lining which included a tarzan swing and two superman zip lines. One of the supermans was through a dark tunnel. This experience was amazing! I highly recommend zip lining in Costa Rica. It is an amazing way to see the mountains and really experience the canopy. I also went to a serpentarium while I was in Monte Verde. It is a very nice little place, and I highly

recommend a stop by if you ever find yourself in Monte Verde. As far as the food there goes do not miss out on the amazingness that is Taco Taco! It has fantastic mexican food!

The next weekend was arguably even better! I went white water rafting on the Pacuare River which is one of the top ten rivers for the sport in the world. At first I was nervous about this experience, but as long as you listen to your river guide you are perfectly safe. The water was beautiful and we saw tons of wildlife including birds, frogs, and butterflies. The same weekend I went to the largest hot springs in the world. It was at a place called Baldi in La Fortuna. As far as this

experience goes it was very nice to chill in the water, and the natural sauna, but the place is very resort and tourist trappy. If you really want a weekend of just chilling in the water it may be a nice place to visit, but if you want to experience Costa Rican culture and wildlife I would not make a stop at Baldi your first choice.

The next weekend I was here I went to Manuel Antonio. This is a very popular place for tourists, and it definitely lives up to the hype. The beaches are amazing, and the wildlife at the national park is breathtaking! We saw sloths, lizards, monkeys, crabs, and many more amazing examples of wildlife. However, do be aware of the monkeys and the raccoons at the beach. They will steal your stuff.

This weekend I went to a coffee tour. It was great to learn about the process of coffee making from seed to cup. The coffee we tasted was delicious, and it came with an amazing history lesson.

Finally, here is one more update on things to be prepared for when studying abroad.

1. Be prepared to be confused how to eat some of the food. My mamatica brings out ketchup for dinner all the time, and I still don't know what I am supposed to be putting the ketchup on. The rice???

Hopefully my next update won't take a month! Safe Travels!

bottom of page